Quick Links

Department of Psychiatry

The Department of Psychiatry is housed in Sir Cowasji Jehangir Institute of Psychiatry at Hyderabad. It was established in September 2001 

The BOARD OF STUDIES of Department of Psychiatry consists of following members

Prof. Dr. Moin Ahmed Ansari
Prof. Dr. Sohail Ahmed
Prof. Dr. Raza Ur Rahman
Prof. Dr. Muhammad Afridi
Dr. Jamil Junejo
Dr. Adeel Memon
Dr. Muhammad Raza Memon
Dr. Inayatullah Awan

Services Provided By The Department

  • Outpatient psychiatric facility at Sir Cowasjee Jehangir, Institute of Psychiatry, Hyderabad, comprising adult psychiatry, child psychiatry, geriatric psychiatry, and emergency psychiatry.
  • Outpatient psychiatric facility at Liaquat University Hospital, Hyderabad (Civil Hospital), with recent establishment of child and adolescent psychiatry on every Tuesday at Civil Hospital OPD Hyderabad.
  • Epilepsy clinic at Sir CJIP Hyderabad.
  • Disabuse and Drug Rehabilitation facility at Sir CJIP Hyderabad.
  • Forensic psychiatry facility at Sir CJIP Hyderabad. 
  • Inpatient admission facility at Sir CJIP Hyderabad.
  • Psychological assessment through psychometric testing.
  • Rehabilitation services for improved patients.
  • Electroconvulsive therapy facility at Sir CJIP Hyderabad.


The Department of Psychiatry is imparting training to postgraduate students of FCPS, MCPS, MD and DPM. So far 32 candidates have received their Diploma in Psychiatric Medicine after getting training in the department and one candidate has received his Doctor of Medicine degree in psychiatry.

Presently five students are under training for FCPS, one for MCPS, five for MD and ten for DPM.

In these postgraduate courses students are imparted structured & quality training under supervision of a skilled faculty. Special emphasis is given to research.

Following training programmes are under way at the Department:
  • FCPS
  • MCPs
  • MD
  • DPM


Psychiatry, psychology & behavioral sciences are now a part of undergraduate and postgraduate curricula of medicine, physiotherapy and nursing.
  • Graduation Class (4th Years MBBS)
  • Final Years (MBBS)
  • Nursing classes
  • Physiotherapy classes
  • Rotation of MD & FCPS general medicine & neurology
  • Psychology interns from Sindh University, Jamshoro

List of key achievements since the establishment of the Department

We have following achievements to date:
  • Establishment of a Psychiatric Institute in the City of Hyderabad
  • Establishment of twenty-four Emergency Ward at Sir CJIP, Hyderabad
  • Commencement of postgraduate training for Diploma, MD, FCPS, and MCPs
  • Provision of more than thirty psychiatrists to the community
  • Publication of research articles in journals of repute
  • Holding of first and second National Conference on Child and Adolescent Mental Health
  • Collaboration with UNODC
  • Collaboration with British and Canadian for mental health institutes
  • Election of Professor Moin Ansari as a member of Faculty in CPSP


Various workshops, trainings, symposia and conferences are being conducted by the Department of Psychiatry as a part of Continued medical Education. For registration/information about the schedule of CME activities, the Chairman Department of Psychiatry can be contacted . Contact email: dr.moinansari@gmail.com